Copyright

Learning about copyright laws shocking me and scared me a bit, okay more than a bit. Becoming aware of them was and going over what is fair use and how do teachers are able to use these rules way a great way to ease my mind. I feel allot more comfortable after reading and viewing the informations given to us the prior week.

free-the-textbook

Opensourceway / CC BY-SA

I was familiar with some of the copyright laws, I worked in the copy center at office max for 4 years. We were not able to copy worksheets, books, pictures and etc. I knew there was a piece of paper we would hand the customer is copies were needed and they had a copyright logo. I later learned that the piece of paper was the form one needs to requesting the permission to make copies. This law seemed intimidating to people and many of them including myself didn’t understand why we needed this. Then I was employed at a photography place where I learned about copyright on the other side, the person who held the copy rights to the photographs we shoot. I learned that many customers would come in and request the rights to the pictures they were in and for a fee we would print a certificate of a copyright release allowing them to scan and copy the images. Other customers would just pay the for the copy of the image, which was 3x the amount in comparison to Costco photo center. What surprised me the most was the idea of having four major variables to find out if the idea of using someone else’s work is illegal. At the end it seems like as long as us as the teachers are not causing the company or individual to loose money its in fair use. Making it a very manipulative law that can be perceived in many ways. As a future teacher, having a large gray area is difficult to know what is right and wrong. learning the rules of the copyright laws is very important for me as a teacher, since allot of the information that will be taught can be presented in a picture as a supportive visual prop i need to be able to make sure proper credit is given to the creator of the work in order to stay in the clear.

Pillars_of_creation_2014_HST_WFC3-UVIS_full-res_denoised

Hubble Telescope/Three pillars/NASA/ No known copyright restrictions

2 thoughts on “Copyright

  1. Great information on the copies of work in school i had no idea how difficult the laws really were you had some good information on what you have to do and its not just work citing your work and your done.

    Like

  2. I like that you brought in work examples other than in teaching. It shows that copyright laws are found in multiple areas of our lives. Also, your stories show the complexity of copyright of images that people were in but did not necessarily own the rights to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment